jump to navigation

The Gangnam Goat Shake? March 6, 2013

Posted by jeneypeney in bloggers do it best, i'm a moron, pop culture, what the hell.
trackback

7f8

As a member of Generation Y, I like to do my peers proud and stay up-to-date with the latest in pop-cultural and internet sensations.

I was a huge fan of LOLCats and Rick Rolling and I will always, always laugh like an idiot when I watch Honey Badger.

Leroy Jenkins, Duck Face, Condescending Wonka, McKayla in Not Impressed… I fully bought in to all of them. I read, watched, and subscribed to every page and video. I would reference them in my everyday conversations. I shared them on Facebook, added them to my Tumblr feed, and e-mailed them to my Dad because I knew my Mom just wouldn’t understand.

Then something happened… and it all started with a guy from South Korea riding an imaginary horse like someone from Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

While I wasn’t the biggest fan of Gangnam Style, I understood how the absurdity of the whole video and slightly catchy tune of the song would attract the attention and admiration of a population of individuals who gave life to shows like Teen Mom and Jersey Shore.

But soon after, The Harlem Shake happened.

And folks…. I just don’t get it.

I mean, humping the air and flailing your arms around does not a Harlem Shake make. I’m not even sure how this became a thing? It is supposed to be funny? Is there some kind of joke I am missing out on? Am I just getting old? Why don’t I understand?!?!

(Don’t even get me started on Screaming Goats. That shit’s just annoying.)

So if someone could please – for the love of all that is holy – explain these things to me?

I’ll be here waiting on the porch telling all the kids to get off my lawn…

Comments»

1. Dawn Giles Lovitt - March 6, 2013

Totally agree with you on the Harlem Shake…however, that compilation video with the goats was some funny stuff – except the last song in the group, I had NO IDEA what that was.


Leave a Reply

