jump to navigation

When Harry Potter meets Iron Chef November 17, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in 30 days of truth, cooking, master of the spatula, nerdgasm.
trackback

30 Days of Truth: Day 2

Something you love about yourself.

I wish I could say there was some phenomenal part of my body I absolutely adore. Or some great aspect of my personality that trumps everything I hate about myself – but in all honesty it is a simple skill I have that I love most about myself…

I kind of rock in the cooking and baking department.

Do you remember that scene in Harry Potter where he picks up his wand for the first time and crazy sparks fly out of the tip? (twss?)

Well that’s how it is when I pick up a spatula.

The baking isle of the grocery is my Diagon Alley. Paula Dean is my Minerva McGonagall. Rachel Ray is my Draco Malfoy. The kitchen is my Room of Requirement. A food processor, Kitchen Aid mixer, and “Kiss the Chef” apron are my Deathly Hallows.

I can whip up a mean Chicken Paprika, Sheppard’s Pie, Tortilla Casserole, Pistachio Bunt Cake, Reuben Pizza, Chicken Zucchini Spinach Lasagna Roll Ups,  Banana Walnut Pancakes, Chicken Sausage Shrimp Gumbo, Oatmeal Crisp Apple Pie* and everything in between.

I absolutely love cooking – especially for other people. And I pride myself in the fact that I can do it pretty well.

So if there was ever a reason for you to come visit me in Fargo, it’s my cooking. Because I kind of kick ass at it.

* Want the recipes? E-mail me…

McGonagall
Comments»

1. cari - November 17, 2010

i want chicken zucchini spinach lasagna roll ups. like… right now. i can’t even TELL you how amazing that sounds.

2. Sadie Hawkins Dance - November 17, 2010

you rock star. i’d like to say i’m rather good myself, although i sadly don’t get the time that i’d like to do it. we may have to demolish a kitchen some weekend. and i’d expect you to do no less than rock the white right out of the flour. way to kick ass.

and also, i want those recipes please. 🙂

3. Stevie - November 17, 2010

I LOVE cooking, too. I don’t like baking all that much, but cooking is one of my favorite things. I never follow recipes, I just like to throw a bunch of shit together and see how it tastes. It’s been especially fun as I’ve gotten older and have been able to afford quality ingredients and quality tools. It makes such a difference!

Also, I read pistachio bunt cake as pistachio CUNT BAKE.

4. Vegetable Assassin - November 18, 2010

I was quite annoyed in Fargo the other week because someone moved the Greyhound station and didn’t bother telling me so I was driving around like a lost duck looking for something they decided to hide behind a strip mall. I could’ve been at your house eating yumminess instead!

5. Isaiah Walter Paul 2-bit Diomedes Pepe Sperm Charlie Josaih Tigo Beckman - November 18, 2010

I remember a promise from a certain girl whos name starts with the letter after “I”, and ends with the letter before “Z” saying she was going to go to an engaged couples apartment and cook dinner for them..? haha what! Chicken Parmesean ring a bell? maybe some other time 😉 Jelly BEANS!


Leave a Reply

