jump to navigation

Wishing on Eyelashes October 13, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in all growed up, life, schmoop, sentimental stuff, wishing and dreaming.
trackback

I remember when I was a kid my mother would periodically tell me to hold still, pull a rogue eyelash off my cheek, and  tell me to make a wish.

Staring at that precarious little piece of hair on her finger tip, I would wonder to myself, “How is that going to grant me a wish?”

Never mind the absurdity of throwing spare change into a man-made puddle of water or sending our hopes and dreams into drop-ceilings with the last vestiges of birthday candle smoke; but wishing on pieces of hair that fell out of my EYE?

You’re crazy, woman.

But because I was young and I loved my mother, I would close my eyes tight, silently make my wish, and blow my little eyelash off her finger.

What did I wish for? Well it was never in the same words – but it was always the same thing; I wanted Mr. Right to get off his lazy ass and come find me.

Of course it would alter itself to accommodate my current dating situation…

“I wish for us to stay together for a long time.”

“I wish for this one to be a good one.”

“I wish to spend the rest of my life with him.”

I never hesitated when I had to think of my wish. It almost said itself after so many years.

I continued to make wishes on stars, eyelashes, a digital clock full of ones, and other odd objects in this world that supposedly have mini-genies in them to grant my wish until I was all grown up and paying my own electric bills. Even then I continued to do so.

I’m not entirely sure why I did it. It wasn’t like I truly believed that my penny somehow transformed into a magical wish-granting piece of eight as it tumbled into the murky fountain at the mall. I suppose I was somehow clinging to hope that this guy I kept wishing for would finally get hit with whatever insane wish dust I was conjuring up and show up.

Then a funny thing happened… After almost two decades of wishing, he ‘effin showed up.

After that – I started hesitating when the clock turned to 11:11. I didn’t know what to say to the stars that were asking for my wishes. I even started ignoring my eyelashes.

I had no more wishes to make.

I’m not saying I needed a man in my life to be happy. There is so much more I want to do with the little time I have on this earth: The perfect job. My student loans to be paid off. Go skydiving. Learn how to play the drums.

But those things? I know those are things that the genie within my own body needs to do on her own. Wishes aren’t going to make them happen; I am.

I won’t lie to you though, having The Actual in my life makes these things seem a lot easier to accomplish.

So tell me… when you pick up a dandelion or get the larger piece of the wishbone, what do you wish for?

Comments»

1. JeffScape - October 13, 2010

I used to wish I’d write the great American novel… but I gave up on that one.

2. Isaiah Walter Paul 2-bit Diomedes Pepe Sperm Charlie Josaih Tigo Beckman - October 13, 2010

If I had a million dollars, I’d buy a damn brewery and turn the planet into alcoholics!
If I had one wish, I’d ask for a big enough ass for the whole world to kiss! –Eminem (if you didn’t know) and if you don’t know by now… you aint ever gonna learn! haha Hi Jeney!

3. Heather - October 13, 2010

I wish to be happy. I wish to find peace. I wish to be better.

4. coorscowgirl - October 13, 2010

i wish for him to wake up and realize im the one he should be with….i wish to be happy….i wish to heal this pain….

5. cari - October 19, 2010

ain’t that the truth?

6. Haley - November 8, 2010

Who hasn’t updated her blog in a really long time? Oh, that would be Jeney!!


Leave a Reply

