jump to navigation

An Ode to I29 Construction August 6, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in being appropriate is overrated, empty threats, letters, piss and moan, save yo drama fo yo mama, the midwest, workin girl.
trackback

Dear North Dakota DOT,

I understand, what with the absurdly cold winters here in Fargo, ND, that you must repair our streets and highways during the two weeks of summer we actually have decent weather. I appreciate this – really, I do. So does my car.

What I do not appreciate is the fact that my entire 6 mile trip to work on the usual three lanes of I29 has been reduced to two lanes with yielding merges and a speed limit of 35 miles per hour.

Now, if you were in fact working on at least 60% of this valuable blocked lane, I would be a bit more sympathetic and forgiving of your blatant disregard for my commute and short temper. HOWEVER! Throughout this entire 6 miles you have blocked, you only have your orange vest wearing workers actually doing work in a 10 yard section right off of US10’s exit. And they’ve been drilling in the same god damn spot ALL WEEK!

In other words they’ve made NO PROGRESS in the 0.0009% of the highway they are working on. And my commute is still twice as long and I still have to count to ten before I get out of my car at work.

I don’t know what fuckstick you have working in your planning division, but they seriously need to be whacked with a baseball bat. I’m sure you have someone sitting around that could do it while they’re NOT working on I29.

So seriously, please open that third lane back up and convert the merging lanes back to normal. Drivers out here are seriously far too incompetent to know what a YIELD sign means or how to drive 35 mph without riding their brakes – it could be that they have no idea how to read the signs, but I digress.

If you can’t do so, then start tearing shit up on that side of the road so there’s a reason for those effing orange buckets and my newly developed ulcers.

Much obliged,

Jeney

Comments»

1. Sadie Hawkins Dance - August 6, 2010

Bahaha….so true. It’s either winter or road construction season around these parts. Cambridge has just been a clusterfuck since the snow disappeared, and of course it involved the main road to get to Target, the grocery store, and any other cool place I’d need/want to be. Sure, the end result is nice, but yet irritating at the same time.

Those fucksticks at the DOT gotta lock it up.

2. carissa - August 10, 2010

Ahhh you should definitely not move to Dallas. I swear they’ve been working on the same highway construction since I moved here 5 years ago. It makes me want to cry and paint mean things on billboards and stuff. It’s no wonder that twice in the last year they had to talk people down from them.

3. Tiffany - August 11, 2010

I follow you on twitter
http://twitter.com/tiffanyj84

I answered your question… I guess you have to follow me to see my reply. The toy was called the “View Master”


Leave a Reply

