jump to navigation

Why working in athletics sucks sometimes… June 15, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in femme writes, girl problems, i wish i was still in college, i'm a moron, life, piss and moan, post grad dilemma, sports, the 'f' word, women's writes, workin girl.
trackback

I had originally wanted to write this for Femme Writes, but I am obviously a whole ten days behind the deadline. However, something happened this past week that I have to address.

I’m a sports nut.

I have a box with a football, softballs, glove, volleyball, basketball, soccer ball, hand pump, and softball bat in my trunk – just in case.

I refuse to make plans on Sundays during football season because, duh! The game is on!

The Actual actually has issues watching sporting events with me because I get so worked up (“What the hell was that?! My dog could have caught that goddamn football!” “Who in their right mind would swing at that shit?! Worthless!”).

I also happen to be lucky enough to work in the same area I am so passionate about – athletics. And although the role of women in athletics (especially collegiate athletics) has continually increased over the past several decades, my particular field (equipment) is severely lacking in the double X chromosome department.

I was in Tennessee last week for a conference where I was one of maybe about a couple dozen women in a sea of over 500 athletic equipment managers. That, doubled with fact that I was a new, young face in the crowd, meant I kind of, sort of  stuck out. (Best pick up line of the week? “We may be in Tennessee, but you’re the only ten-I-see!”)

Being a woman in the athletic work field, I have become used to the off-hand comments and subtle belittling that comes with it; it all just makes me work harder.

But this week, I was shaken so bad at one of my seminars that I almost spent the rest of the day in my hotel room.

You see, I was in a seminar called ‘Helpful Hints’, which consisted of us equipment managers sharing our own hints and shortcuts for the group. I decided to get up and share my ‘hint’ about donating the hotel toiletries athletes leave in their travel bags to battered women’s shelters or homeless shelters in town. I ended my hint by saying, “If you have a SAAC, you should get them involved as well.”

Of course, considering the room was full of 99% men, they heard me say, “If you guys have a sack, get them involved!”

For the remainder of the conference, I was known as the girl who talked about sacks in the Helpful Hints meeting. I was absolutely mortified. Not because I unintentionally mentioned a man’s private parts (Lord knows I do that intentionally on a normal basis), but because no one would drop the damn subject for the rest of the week.I had lost credibility because of my verbal slip.

I can’t help but wonder if the same thing would have happened if I had been a man and actually had a sack of my own?

I am just as intelligent, talented, and damn good at my job as any of those men in my association. I can talk sports and understand the metaphors just as well as the next ass hat out there. Just because I have a vagina does not mean they have the right to ridicule me because I stated something with a double meaning.

You can all take your sacks and kiss my skirted ass.

Comments»

1. Erin Scott - June 15, 2010

Men are pigs. Sometimes, they’re very lovable pigs, but in the end, they are usually some version of a dirty, smelly, insensitive moron. What horrifies most lady folk is often an afterthought for them (social conditioning, anyone?).

I have to wonder if the subject matter – donations to a women’s shelter (which is a great idea!) – put them off. I’m not saying that you should avoid the topic, but sometimes men just don’t women’s issues seriously. It’s the culture of “us vs. them” and “it doesn’t effect me” colliding and creating a big, dumb, superpig. Like a supernova, but without all the cool pictures from the Hubble.

2. Pony Girl - June 15, 2010

Dont sweat it woman. Arkansas told me about it and it made me giggle a little. My field is pretty bad with things like that as well so you’re not alone. But really if you think about it our jobs rock. I especially liked that pickup line though…Haha
-Your loving friend
Me

3. LiLu - June 15, 2010

Ugh, SO annoying. I hate to say it, but I think you just gotta roll with it, you know? Show them it doesn’t bother you.

(Blah. I sound like a mom talking to her son about bullies.)

But hey… if the shoe fits.

The bullies part, that is… not the son part. 😉

4. cberry - June 15, 2010

ohhh girl- i’m laughing WITH YOU not at you!!!! but that is super funny- but i totally see your point. The stupid slipup (which by they way, that is a GREAT idea about the towels and such) maybe brought attention to you- but maybe in a good way- just turn the tables around and make a joke out of it. Trust me, as a female photographer- i’ve had to “shake out” some one liners to cover my “slipups”….. 😉

HANG in there! hahahah teehee (get it- hang, with the SAAC or SAC)

5. cari - June 15, 2010

yeah, that is ridiculous. i mean, it’s one thing to have a slip like that, but to have the ENTIRE meaning lost on a room full of people because they’re animals is even lamer. it was a GREAT hint, i think, and it’s good to encourage people to help those who maybe can’t help themselves. i know that i don’t volunteer a whole lot or anything in that arena, but i have SO much respect for those who do and do it for the people that it’s helping, not so they have a bragging right for themselves.

i’m sorry that your hint got lost in a room full of sacks.

6. Why working in athletics sucks sometimes… « Just a Lost Soul … | Working Gloves - June 16, 2010

[…] Go here to read the rest: Why working in athletics sucks sometimes… « Just a Lost Soul … […]

7. Femme Writes – Women in the Workplace « Femme Writes - June 17, 2010

[…] Jeney Peney’s Why Working in Athletics Sucks Sometimes… […]

8. carissa - June 18, 2010

I can totally see why you’re upset. I also have a work related story i meant to write that i will have up and oye vey this kind of stuff really rubs me. However I think you really have to keep in mind that guys who act in this manner probably have extremely small peckers.


Leave a Reply

