jump to navigation

Life – 1, Jeney – 0 May 25, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in life, Uncategorized.
trackback

I know I pretty much completely disappeared this past week.  Let’s just say life has a really funny way of roundhouse kicking you in the face when you least expect it.

Last week while I was helping The Actual move to his new apartment three hours away (which sucks in and of itself already), my mother called me in tears telling me to come to Chicago. “He’s not doing very well, Jeney.”

The ‘he’ my mother was referring to is my grandfather. And for those who have followed this blog long enough, you know just how important that man is in my life.

So I began to make plans to leave on Monday for Chicago.  I packed up softball bags for the first round of the NCAA tournament, told my AD to take me off the travel roster, finished up my laundry, and made my way back home for some sleep before I began the 10 hour trek across three state lines.

Then my mom called again to tell me Little Shit had a seizure while he was on his way to my grandmother’s house from the hospital and had gotten into an accident.

Cue irrational and distraught Jeney.

My 11:30pm, The Actual had put me in my car, loaded up on 5-hour energy drinks, and began the trip to Chicago where I had one of the most stressful and draining weeks of my life.

My brother is okay. The seizure was a result of too much stress, not enough food, and too much heavy labor. He needs to eat better and quit smoking and he should be fine.

My grandfather on the other hand, is still struggling. He was admitted for internal bleeding as a result of taking blood thinners for so many years. He has a severe lack of oxygen in his body and it is causing him to be incredibly confused and a bit loopy. The bleeding has stopped for now, but his heart rate has now dropped. They are considering a pace maker, but they do not know if he will survive the procedure.

I am terrified that the moment I said goodbye to him when I left for Fargo on Sunday I was saying it for the last time…

Posts will be scarce for a while. I need to deal with a moving boyfriend, moving myself into a bigger apartment, training for a 55 mile bike ride, and trying to get athletes to turn gear in before they leave for the summer.

I am simply too exhausted to blog.

I will close with a plea… please send good juju and positive thoughts out to my family – especially my grandparents. As he once told me, “Things will work out. They may not be how you expected them to, or even how you wanted them to, but things always work out.”

So here’s to hoping things work out.

Comments»

1. christin - May 25, 2010

🙂 i’m sending smile, hugs, and love to you girl!!! i’m not uber far away, but becky, ike, and i, oh and mb can help you with anything you need! (yes I just volunteered everyone!) 🙂 xoxox mauh! stay strong!!!

2. Ed Adams - May 25, 2010

Hang in there girl.

Will be praying for you and your family.

3. Joe A - May 25, 2010

Stay strong and don’t let the stress take you over like it did your brother! Remember to take care of yourself too. All of us on this side of the blog are “loving harder” for you and your family!

4. jehlik501 - May 25, 2010

i’m sorry to hear all of that.

i hope that things slow down for you and work out how you want them to. 🙂 praying for you.

5. Malnurtured Snay - May 25, 2010

Big cyber hug!

6. Sadie Hawkins Dance - May 25, 2010

Thinking about you Jeney and praying hard. I was in that same position a year ago with my grandma, it’s an incredibly tough spot. Things will work out, they always do. Love you woman.

7. Stevie - May 25, 2010

Thinking of you and your family, and sending happy thoughts your way. Take care of yourself and do what you have to do for your family. You all need each other right now.

8. coorscowgirl - May 25, 2010

sending love and prayers to you and your family. stay strong…loved the quote at then end of the post….take care.

9. Jan Hill - May 25, 2010

Jeney, please know that you are in the Hill Family’s thoughts, prayers, jujus, and whatever other good feeling channels you can think of. Please call if you are ever in need of a listening ear, a giggle, or just well…anything.
On behalf of our family, know this…You became a part of our extended family and we love you.

The Hills

10. Erin Scott - May 25, 2010

Hang in there, darlin’. I’ll be thinking of you and yours. Let me know if you need anything, even if it’s a random comforting email, k?

11. JeffScape - May 27, 2010

Got the score backwards, Jeney. C’est la vie, and you’re still standing.

Well-wishes for all.

12. carissa - May 27, 2010

I read this the other day on my phone and haven’t been able to comment yet, but seriously lady- I’m so sorry you’re going through a tough time! Please let me know if I can do anything at all! I misses you!

13. Alden Greene - May 28, 2010

Really interesting read. Truely.

14. Lynn Sterling - May 30, 2010

If only more than 71 people could hear this.

15. Jeannie - May 30, 2010

Just know your IN family is praying for you and yours.

16. Laura Crawford - May 31, 2010

Incredibly awesome writing! Honestly!

17. Dianna Rosa - May 31, 2010

If only more people would read this.

18. Madeline Hollingsworth - June 1, 2010

Really awesome writing! Really!


Leave a Reply

