jump to navigation

Women’s Writes – Taking Control May 5, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in all growed up, girl problems, life, pop culture, sexy time, women's writes.
trackback

When the Criminal Homicide and Abortion Amendments bill passed in Utah at the beginning of March, both Shine and Marie reached the end of their rope when it came to women’s rights and issues consistently being pushed backwards rather than moving forwards. They decided create Women’s Writes, the fifth day of every month in which any blogger could write about women’s rights and issues and bring them to the forefront so that we could speak up and make all of our voices heard.

***

When I began writing for this month’s Women’s Writes, I was originally going to talk about birth control and the difficulties of getting it whilst one is in attendance at an all women’s Catholic College.

But I figured that’s kind of a no-brainer, right? So instead I am going to write about (dramatic pause)….

Condoms!*

“But, Jeney… Condoms? Isn’t that a guy thing? Why talk about jimmy hats for Women’s Writes?”

Well, I could be completely off base about this, but it seems that there is still a stigma on women who purchase, carry around, or otherwise have condoms in their possession. Frankly, I still feel a small twinge of embarrassment when I buy condoms myself and have to avert my eyes from the cashier.

You’ve seen The Pregnancy Pact**, remember the scene when the one girl in the group who wasn’t pregnant was embarrassed to buy condoms? So Thora Birch’s character offered to do it with her to show the girls that there was no need to be ashamed of it?

That is exactly what I am talking about here.

Why is it I feel like Suzy McCashier is judging me? There is absolutely no reason to be embarrassed of taking control of your right to manage what happens to your uterus. After all, if we as women are expected to be on the pill, patch, shot, ring, IUD, etc., to prevent pregnancy, shouldn’t we be able to take charge on the condom thing too?

Because let’s face it, guys aren’t always going to be cooperative when it comes to wrapping it up.

Don’t be ashamed of buying condoms. Don’t be afraid to stash some in your purse when you go out for the night. It doesn’t mean you are a slut or easy – it means you’re an intelligent woman who is in command of of her reproductive rights.

* Of course there are other forms of non-hormonal birth control like female condoms and diaphragms, but as those are considered “female” forms of contraception they may not hold the same social discomfort as male condoms.

** Don’t lie to me. I know you did.

Comments»

1. Isaiah Walter Paul 2-bit Diomedes Pepe Sperm Charlie Beckman - May 5, 2010

Condoms? what are those?

2. cari - May 5, 2010

that law is ridiculous. is THIS the kind of garbage we’re paying those guys on the hill to do? because that’s insane. i’m pro-life for sure, but i’m not about to JUDGE or CONDEMN anyone who isn’t! just because they have a different viewpoint than me doesn’t mean that they are wrong and deserve to go to jail or anything like that. but i guess the pendulum must swing to super conservative now because it once was super liberal. and thus it will swing back and forth.

i still think it’s ridiculous.

3. daffy - May 5, 2010

Much better to carry them with you than to try to get those flavored ones out of the beat up vending machine thingie mabobber in the bathroom.. Ahem…not that I could ever be found beating on one of those or anything….

4. sherryrose - May 5, 2010

~sigh~

a woman who carries condoms is a whore, a man who carries condoms is well prepared. don’t you love the typical double standards?

i got over the embarrassment thing by being the one embarrassing others…i’ll buy lubed, twisted, flavored or SOMETHING and then ask the cashier- do you know if they’re any good? i’m excited to try them!

so much more fun when THEY’RE the embarrassed ones!

5. Women’s Writes – Is it really okay to lie? « shine out loud - May 5, 2010

[…] Jeney Peney’s Taking Control […]

6. Tell Me About Periods « Marie's Blog Cafe - May 5, 2010

[…] Jeney Peney (Taking Control) […]

7. coorscowgirl - May 5, 2010

great post !!!!!!!

i totally carry condom, i had a pregnacey scare a few years ago now i dont go out on the town without one, i dont think im a slut like you said i think im being smart about not wanting kids some random guy i take home for a night of fun….im on the pill but cmon look who’s talking here im not taking any chances.

great post !!!!!!!!!!

8. Vivi - May 5, 2010

I gave the opening speech at my high school graduation and then ended the ceremony by pulling a hundred condoms, which were tucked into my blouse, out and throwing them into the audience. I had voiced concerns about our lack of sex education and when nothing was done I took matters into my own hands. A gal has to look out for herself whether it’s carrying one condom for her own safety or 100 for the safety of others.

This post rocked!

9. lbluca77 - May 5, 2010

Like the Boy Scouts say “Always be prepared” I can’t believe I quoted the boy scouts, but really when it comes to buying condoms and sex being prepared does apply.

10. Jerseygirl - May 5, 2010

Bravo! I’ll never forget when a potential partner said to me, “You have condoms in your bedside drawer?” like I was some kind of hooker. Too bad he never got to try any of them out.

11. Stevie - May 5, 2010

And don’t forget, it’s not just about preventing pregnancy. Even if you’re on the pill or some other form of birth control, you should STILL use condoms to prevent STDs! Good for you for taking control.

I was on the pill for years, but always had a stash of condoms in my apartment, as well as a couple in my purse. I’m not on the pill anymore and I’m in a monogamous relationship, but we still use condoms of course to prevent those pesky babies from getting made, and we pretty much split the bill on the condoms. If I notice we’re getting low, I’ll pick some up when I’m out shopping, and he does the same.

12. Meg - May 5, 2010

So true. Wish people wouldn’t make it so awkward!

13. Griffin - May 5, 2010

I’ve never been ashamed to buy condoms, but then, I don’t often buy them…FML

14. carissa - May 6, 2010

You know what? I have noticed that guys don’t even carry them around that often anymore. More often than not, I’ve had to be the one to get it out and initiate the bc talk. I think they’re used to girls being on birth control. It really annoys me…

15. Femme Writes: Women’s Reproductive Rights and Issues – May 5, 2010 « Femme Writes - May 12, 2010

[…] Jeney Peney’s Taking Control […]


Leave a Reply

