jump to navigation

Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters; Giveaway! April 9, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in a little help from my friends, giveaways, in it to gym it, life, return to athleticism, women's writes.
trackback

I have been moved to tears, laughter, and heartache as I have been reading posts from In It To Gym It, Violence Unsilenced, and Shine and Marie’s Women’s Writes project over these past few weeks.

Every time I read one of these stories – your stories – I feel like there is another me in an alternate universe writing all the thoughts I’ve had in my head I couldn’t express.

We are all suffering and struggling with our body image and self-esteem in some way, shape or form. And we are all ridiculously, absurdly hard on ourselves about it. And there is no reason we should be.

I do not know how many of you have ever heard of Courtney Martin or her spectacular book, Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters – but I will be giving a copy of it to one lucky reader for my first official giveaway!

This book got me through many hard times in college and beyond as I struggled with my own body image and self-esteem. I still pick it up to this day for inspiration and a boost (Lord knows I still struggle). I had the pleasure of meeting Courtney when she came to visit my alma mater and, honestly, she couldn’t be a more down-to-earth or wonderful person.

You will love this book.

And someday, with the help of each other, we will love ourselves despite any imperfections we think we have.

***

You will get one entry for each of the following:

1) Comment with one thing you *love* about yourself and one thing you *love* about the person who commented before you. If you don’t know that person – go check them out. I’m know you’ll find something you’ll love. (If you are the firstcommenter – write something about a person of your choice!)

2) Tweet about the giveaway. (Either @reply to me or comment with the link)

3) Blog about the giveaway. (Comment with the link)

A winner will be chosen via Random.org on April 16th!

Good luck!

Comments»

1. DCPrincess - April 9, 2010

I love…that even though I’ve gained a little weight over the last few months, I haven’t sunk back to depression and I’m working hard to get back in shape.

I love how real YOU are. ❤

2. Blue Martini Photography - April 9, 2010

ooooo how awesome is this!! What a great idea jeney! It’s scary how much this effects EVERY girl at EVERY age. It’s pretty horrific actually. 10yr old girls thinking that they have to dress in tight shirts and skirts like Brittany Spears…there is a photographer who addressed this issue about 8years ago when I was in college- it was nuts. Hmmm…Jeney is beautiful because of her awesome sense of humor and her witty ways of connecting with her readers!! 😉 xoxo

3. cari - April 9, 2010

oh man. this is a great idea. i’ve never heard of the book though.

this is definitely also going to have to be a two part comment because class starts soon and i don’t have time to check out the blog of the lovely person above me.

one thing that i love about myself, my body, would have to be my legs. i’ve ALWAYS had a perhaps slightly unhealthy obsession with them – but just looking at them. they’re beautiful and 100 miles long. i LOVE my legs.

4. Heather - April 9, 2010

Believe it or not, I have started to love my hips. They are strong and make me sexy. They are my foundation when I dance. I can’t Cari’s blog so I’ll comment on the blog before her. I love her that she makes people feel beautiful in their own skin.

Tweeted abou it here: http://twitter.com/Yesthatgirl

Blogged about it here: http://thesethougtsinsidemyhead.blogspot.com/2010/04/for-you-and-me-and-all-girls.html

5. Road Trips, Weddings and Bears, Oh My - April 9, 2010

[…] Speaking of free stuff, Jeney has an awesome giveaway HERE. Go enter! […]

6. suki - April 9, 2010

Great idea for a giveaway!

One thing I love about myself – my height! 🙂 I don’t know Heather, so I checked out her blog. 🙂 I love that she is into similar things that I am – knitting [I just started], getting snail mail. And I love how simple her blog layout looks!

7. Just A Girl - April 9, 2010

I love my boobs. That’s pretty recent since I didn’t actually have boobs until a couple years ago so it’s nice to feel proportionate. I am LOVING Suki’s “metal mouth” category. I’m going to be getting braces again (hopefully soon), and I probably need jaw surgery too, and I’m scared. It’s nice to actually read a first hand account.

8. Sketch - April 9, 2010

I love my eyes. This may sound like a cop-out, avoiding perfectly acceptable body parts, but it is the truth, straight up. I have really pretty light blue eyes that I get compliments on all the time. Whenever I’m feeling not-so-good, I’ll look up in my rearview mirror and think “hey, not to shabby there Miss Sketch!”

9. carissa - April 9, 2010

I love pretty much everything about me. I kid. But really, besides my cute little nose with freckles- I love my sense of humor. I make myself laugh all day long. And really, that’s all that matters.

Ahhh Sketch. I love pretty much everything about her.She’s funny and georgous, and has the ability to take even serious situations and find the humor in them. She’s one of the few bloggers I’ve met in person, and she immediately made me feel comfortable.

10. Julie @ Wearing Mascara - April 9, 2010

I love my curves and my hair 🙂 I’ve always loved my curves but my hair is new to me (liking it). It’s silky and shiney and the color is really dark! With that said, I adora Carissa’s hair too! I just saw a video up on her blog and it’s gorgeous and a shade darker than mine 🙂

Tweeting tooo!

11. Hope - April 9, 2010

I love Carissa’s skills with MS Paint.

I love my eyes.

12. gingermandy - April 9, 2010

i love my hair.

i love the fact that i opened up Hope’s blog to see that she wrote about mustache rides. my kinda girl.

13. Suburban Sweetheart - April 10, 2010

Oh, so glad I know Mandy & get to talk about her! She keeps me laughing, all the time. She says the things people only WISH they had the balls to say, & she’s classy, to boot.

Things I love about myself: my face. It’s a pretty good face. 🙂 Also… um… my sense of humor. I dig it, & I think others do, too. SO. Two things.

Awesome giveaway. ❤

14. clairemontgomerymd - April 12, 2010

i am quite possibly one of the (if not THE) oldest bloggers in this neck of the woods and LOVE this give-away and the rules! you’re a smart one ms. peney!

it took a LONG time, but i can honestly say i am genuinely happy with everything about myself. am i still a work in progress? of course! the best will always be yet to come. my physical faves are my eyes, lips, teeth, and hair.

i checked out suburban sweetheart and was immediately drawn to her post for her dad’s birthday. my dad has been gone almost 13 years and i was moved to tears reading her entry.

15. Kandace - April 13, 2010

I love my eyes. And my eyelashes. My eyes are blue and I have long eyelashes. In fact today someone at work was told that “the blonde with the pretty eyes and long eyelashes” would be the one to know the answer to some unanswered question. I was very complimented by my coworker since she wasn’t even saying it to try to compliment me to me. 🙂

and I LOVE that clairemontgomerymd used the So Wonderful image of buying a vibrator from a garage sale as a selling point for using a condom. It is Fabulous and I shall say that to Anyone I know who says something Stupid about not using protection. It was that fabulous. 🙂

clairemontgomerymd - April 13, 2010

thanks kandace! your blog intrigued me, so consider yourself followed. 🙂

16. Kandace - April 13, 2010
17. zizouandbecks - April 14, 2010

I love my freckles and being a day walker ginger. Ginger kids rule.

I LOVE Kandace’s idea that’s there more to life than the 9-5. I’m SO with her on that one. Excellent choice of words and ideas. Made me want to get the hell out of work and go do something awesome.

18. Last day… « Just a Lost Soul Swimmin' in a Fish Bowl - April 15, 2010

[…] Comment with one thing you *love* about yourself and one thing you *love* about the person who commented […]

19. Ra Ra - April 15, 2010

Whooo here goes my first attempt in the blogging universe…I LOVE my laugh. Its not your generic HA HA HA laugh but more of a he he he and people can usually tell its me. It makes me unique and it puts me in a good mood.

I LOVE that zizouandbecks is proud to be a ginger. I always wished and prayed to the hair gods that my hair would magically turn colors one day so that I wasn’t just another brunette running around. Now I just dye it to try and be like those cool kids out there.

20. emily l - April 18, 2010

I love my singing voice, and I love that the person above me is new to blogging. That’s so cool!

misusedinnocence@aol.com


Leave a Reply

