jump to navigation

Everyone’s getting married and I’m just getting drunk. March 10, 2010

Posted by jeneypeney in all growed up, life, love bites, shenanigans, the midwest, weddng madness.
trackback

I have officially entered that magical and mysterious time of a person’s life when all of your friends begin to tie the knot and procreate while you watch The Bachelor in your underwear drinking boxed wine and eating copious amounts of guacamole. Or is that just me?

That time of your life where professional photographs of happy smiling couples and sparkling diamond rings with the words “Save the Date!” plastered all over them stare at you every time you reach into the fridge for a refill on your Franzia.

That stage where you no longer recognize 63% of your female Facebook friends because they have new last names.

Those years you go through getting questions like, “Is there anyone special in your life?” and “When are you going to settle down?” and all you want to do is give then the stank-eye and say, “Right after I get my quiet money from Tiger,” just to see the look on their faces.

It’s that time when birth announcements and Christenings and baby showers help you to discover your new found appreciation for tiny socks and crocheting.

Yep. It’s that time of my life.

I’ll be taking a short hiatus starting tomorrow as I trek back to the old stomping grounds of Indiana for the first of many weddings I will be attending this year. Considering the last wedding I went to ended up with me walking into my house at 4:00pm on Sunday wearing the same exact outfit I left in – I feel I should have a story of two for you.

If anyone is at all interested in guest posting anytime between tomorrow and next Tuesday, let me know.

Here’s to a long, happy life together and me hooking up with the best man!

Happy Hump Day!

Comments»

1. DCPrincess - March 10, 2010

Have fun.

I have two weddings to go to in the next four months.

What is up with THAT?

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

Seriously! And all the weddings I’m invited to are in the city I just LEFT. Couldn’t they have gotten hitched before I moved?!

2. Griffin - March 10, 2010

I remember when all my friends got married.

I hated it, because I never had a date to take with.

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

I feel ya… I’m dragging my best friend (who’s a girl) with me to most of them.

3. cooorscowgirl215 - March 10, 2010

i;m totally using that tiger woods line next time someone asks when when i’m gonna settle down…and ya not having a date sucks so i’ve decided to be that token drunk friend…my one friend even asked me if i was gonna get wasted at her wedding (i think she really wants me to hahaha)

have fun and cant wait to hear all about it

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

I think I am the token drunk friend…

πŸ˜€

4. shine - March 10, 2010

Scoot over and give me some of that guacamole.

Also, I’ve forced all my friends to accept that I don’t give two shits about their weddings…so I’m rarely invited. This is a good thing.

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

I’ve decided if the wedding doesn’t have an open bar I’m using the “I live too far away” or “Such and such sport is in season” excuse to not go.

Booze is the way to my heart. And guac.

5. Just A Girl - March 10, 2010

Nope, not just you. Me and my Franzia are on close, personal terms. And OBVS I watched the Bachelor, because we all know how much I hated Vienna. The only difference is that my mom buys this bomb mango salsa, so it was usually that.

Single forever? Yeah, me.

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

You and me both, sista.

And mango salsa!? Nom nom nom!

6. Amy - March 10, 2010

Everytime I look at my Facebook news feed, I have a “who the fug is that?” moment. It is terrifying. It’s even more confusing when their profile pic is their baby. Have fun at the wedding… I’d love to guest post but I’m not funny enough to fill these shoes πŸ™‚

jeneypeney - March 10, 2010

Aw! You think I’m funny? That’s so sweet!

Too bad looks aren’t everything πŸ˜›

Badum-chick!

7. carissa - March 12, 2010

Oh wedding season. That happened to me a couple of years ago… now i have to deal with those same women’s divorces. Not near as much fun as the weddings!

8. Erin - March 13, 2010

I never realized this whole ‘Wedding Era’ was a rite of passage I was going to have to endure! Blah. So expensive for someone who could care less about any marriage ritual than that of the open bar!

9. clairemontgomerymd - March 14, 2010

there is not enough money in the world to make me go back to that phase of life. not that this one is much better. πŸ™‚ if you’re still looking for a guest poster (yes, i’m behind on my reading) i’d try to come up with something clever enough to do your blog justice.

10. clairemontgomerymd - March 22, 2010

award for you on my blog!

jeneypeney - March 23, 2010

WOOT! πŸ˜€

11. TGMcCoy - March 31, 2010

I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing


Leave a Reply

